top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJasmine

Expression....

Updated: Oct 7, 2018

YO! Beautiful souls!

So let me tell you about my day. Yesterday was a day. I felt my world crashing down on me. I couldn't get out of bed. I was a mess. That's what anxiety and depression do to you though. No control over it. It just happens.


So, as I was laying there in and out of consciousness jumping from nightmare to nightmare. I felt this push. An overwhelming drive to create! Something telling me to get up and express myself! Do not sit and wallow in your despair ( I did for a bit though)! I got up and I started to envision what I wanted to do. (psst. if you don't want to read all this {which I hope you do} skip to the bottom for the link to all the photos)


I have been wanting to start a project of portraits about tattoos and the stories behind them. Getting to know those around me and their stories. I told myself I cannot tell someone else's story without telling my own first. I have been dragging my feet on this.

So, shout out to those who have been waiting to create with me! Thank you for your patients. I'm in full swing now!




I kicked off this project with my self portraits. Everything that I am and everything that I have has a story to tell. My tattoos are a huge part of me. I know for others it is the same case. For whatever it may be.


Shit got intense! When I was taking my portraits I felt every one. Meaning that weight i was carrying for that day were slowly lifting. The superstition of a camera capturing your soul. Well, it caught mine. It molded it to an exuberant being. It came back to me anew.

I feel that everyone needs some form of self expression. It's selfcare. Whatever it may be for you. Mine is my photography.


I am excited to start this project and get to know others stories and present those stories to the world. Because maybe it'll reach that person that needs it in that moment of vulnerability and help them through it.

You're not alone. Know that.


Click this picture or the the link “Body is a canvas” below to view all the photos.


My on going project "Body: Is a Canvas" will be on my photography site (Body Is a Canvas) for those who would like to follow that journey. Get to know other's stories. It may put things in perspective for you. Also, My story will be told on my photography site!


211 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page